Music

This could potentially be a very VERY long post…

I am a huge music buff. I have a rather broad taste, ranging from Classical to Heavy Metal. Literally. I’m not kidding! Thankfully my dad has an awesome taste in music, plus my history of theater, and then the things I found myself, etc etc. You get the idea.

I’ll give you an example, I have a rather eclectic list on my iPod right now, so let me shuffle and give you a random list.

  1. Nirvana – Lake of Fire
  2. P.O.D – Youth of the Nation
  3. Muse – Plug In Baby
  4. Skillet – Hero
  5. The East Village Opera Company – Overture (Le Nozze Di Figaro) [Redux]
  6. Black Eyed Peas – I Gotta Feeling
  7. Epica – Adagio
  8. Les Miserables: International Cast – At The End of the Day
  9. Halestorm – Out Ta Get Me
  10. Muse – Uprising
  11. Trans-Siberian Orchestra – Fur Elise
  12. Sirenia – The Other Side
  13. Volbeat – The Mirror And The Ripper
  14. Love Spit Love – How Soon Is Now
  15. Avenged Sevenfold – Scream
  16. Chicago (Soundtrack) – Nowadays
  17. Apocalyptica – Not Strong Enough
  18. Mamma Mia! (Soundtrack) – Mamma Mia
  19. Epica – The Last Crusade
  20. System of a Down – Toxicity
  21. Volbeat – Still Counting
  22. Garbage – #1 Crush
  23. D’Oyly Carte Opera Company (HMS Pinafore Soundtrack) – Can I Survive the Overbearing
  24. Coal Chamber – Loco
  25. Rob Zombie – Dragula

So, as you can see, listening to my iPod if you don’t know what you’re getting into is probably like dealing with an ADHD DJ on speed… I currently have almost 500 songs on it right now, and the whole thing is like that. Pop, Rock, Heavy Metal, Musicals, etc etc. I like what I like.

The funny thing is. You have a LOT of musical purist out there. I’m not “enough” of a metal head because I listen to other stuff. I’m not a “real” theater buff because I don’t know every word to every musical (and will openly admit there are some I’ve either never heard or don’t care for). I’m not good enough for pop because except for rare exceptions I don’t like most of it. It better be unique and not so mainstream for me to actually be willing to listen. And I get strange looks being from and living in the south, and my dislike of a most Country music. Then I’m just weird because I like a lot of European hard rock and metal. (See Epica above, but what you don’t see on the list is the Nightwish, Lacuna Coil, Within Temptation to mention a few).

I guess the point to this randomness today is this. Don’t lock yourself into a particular genre of music. Music is such an amazing thing, full of emotions and meanings and everything like that. Keep yourself open to different styles, bands, genres, all of that. It’s worth it. Trust me. I still find things new to me almost every week. Do I have favorites? Yup. Do I have certain things I listen to when I’m in a particular type of mood? Yup. Do I love to share my love of music with others? OH most definitely.

Keeping smiling, singing, rocking out, whatever! 😀

About craftymomchronicles

Okay, so this is where I am supposed to be witty and cute and tell you how funny and awesome I am to get you to read my blog. Well….. not sure how that is going to work. I am a stay at home mom of two, one is my minime high school student and theater chick, the other is my homeschooled dancing dude, who is momma’s lil man. I get to stay at home and do all this cool stuff thanks to my awesomeness hubby who works his tush off so I can. Of course staying at home isn’t for everybody, and we’ll dive into THAT some day I’m sure, but I love it, and I have my crafts to keep me busy. That is what started this whole thing. Hubby said to me “babe, you should start blogging” and well, here I am. Good luck and enjoy! And yes, I do approve all comments, but don't think I'm censoring everybody. I will let negative ones through as long as everybody plays nice. View all posts by craftymomchronicles

Leave a Reply

Mary Maxim Blog

Knit and Crochet Tips, Updates and more.

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Diabetes Odyssey

A blog about my life with type 1 diabetes and related complications.

free_bird

Loner's...do not enjoy solitude, but having tried unsuccessfully to blend in; only to realize people often disappoint them....they shelter themselves.

WIL WHEATON dot NET

50,000 Monkeys at 50,000 Typewriters Can't Be Wrong

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

sleepykittystitches.wordpress.com/

Cross Stitch & My Kitty

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

Crafting to Speak

Learning how to talk with color and fabric and thread.

Stitch Therapy

Discovering me … one stitch at a time

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

Explore Newness

My quest to do or learn something NEW as often as I can!

Treacle Scones & Rumpled Sheets

There's more than one way to enjoy melted butter.

Hook Stitch Hoop

Stitching my way through life

crosstitchery

handcrafted by; quilts, needlework, DIY & decor

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crocheting colour for the home.

