The Grass is Greener…

You’ve all heard the saying, “The grass is always greener on the other side.” These days I’m sure most of you have probably heard the more modernized version of this, “The grass is greener on the other side, because it’s fertilized with more bullsh*t.”

I have to agree with the modern update to this, personally.

Okay, before people start throwing popcorn and calling me a pessimist, no, actually I’m usually quite the optimist, and very much the realist, (just ask DH, he gets a little annoyed sometimes when I’m constantly pointing out the bright side of things). I do believe the cup is half full, or just needs topping off at least, and there is usually quite the silver, gold, or at least shiny tin lining to every cloud. You may not always be able to see it, but it’s there.

Now. On to the saying…

Too many people I think in this modern day society we live in, live by the first, older, version of the saying. Always moving from place to place, job to job, relationship to relationship because it JUST seems a little greener other places. Never once slowing down enough to appreciate what they have.

You know, when I was younger, and faced with a decision, several people throughout the years have always told me, “make a list of the pros and cons”. Which has definitely stuck with me, and I have done it, maybe not extensively on paper as I once did, but I have done it, for lots of major decisions. It’s a concrete way to look at everything that is going to be effected by whatever decision you are trying to make. It can also help pull you back to reality a little bit, and really makes you examine the whole decision very closely to make sure you are seeing all parts of it.

For example. Let’s just say you are looking at changing jobs. Pros are typically more money, or a better benefits package, things along those lines. Cons can be further travel, or an unfamiliar industry, etc. Then you have to decide what’s more important, these better benefits or money, or longevity with a company. Most people forget, even in something as simple as changing jobs, that the cost of the longer commute will negate any raise, or that vacation they wanted to take next summer isn’t going to happen now because you won’t have any leave time built up. All things you have to look at, and weigh how important they are for you, and your family.

Now, to get to the touchy part of this, and again, before anyone starts screaming that it’s aimed at them, or I’m horrible, I will promise I have no one in particular in mind, and this is my opinion. Doesn’t make me horrible. *grins*.

This is mostly referring to married people. Too many times these days, once the going gets tough, the tough pack their shi*t and leave. Remember that old saying? “When the going gets tough, the tough get going” doesn’t mean, they get going out the door! It means they buckle down and get to work, “bulldogging” their way through whatever tough situation is going on. Another meme that I’ve seen recently, usually pictures an older couple, “the reason we’re still together after so many years, is because in our day, when something was broken, you fixed it, and didn’t throw it away.” That is SO true.

I remember as a little girl, wandering through my Pop’s old workshop. The smell of a lawnmower and gasoline still make me think of it. But, to a little girl, it was fascinating. Bits and pieces of everything! Wire, nuts, bolts, screws, old baby food jars, FILLED with little things, broken fans, parts and pieces from this and that. All because, if something broke, he FIXED it.

So, let’s get back to the “old days”. FIX things when they are broken. And I don’t just mean material things here folks, I mean friendships, relationships (and yes, I know some are broken beyond repair, I’m not THAT much of an optimist), work issues, and even that old fan that is making a funny noise. Take it apart, look at the insides, and figure out what’s wrong. Then try to fix it. The grass really isn’t always greener on the other side. Yes, sometimes it is, but make sure you know WHY it’s greener before you move to a new pasture.

Smile everybody! 🙂

About craftymomchronicles

Okay, so this is where I am supposed to be witty and cute and tell you how funny and awesome I am to get you to read my blog. Well….. not sure how that is going to work. I am a stay at home mom of two, one is my minime high school student and theater chick, the other is my homeschooled dancing dude, who is momma’s lil man. I get to stay at home and do all this cool stuff thanks to my awesomeness hubby who works his tush off so I can. Of course staying at home isn’t for everybody, and we’ll dive into THAT some day I’m sure, but I love it, and I have my crafts to keep me busy. That is what started this whole thing. Hubby said to me “babe, you should start blogging” and well, here I am. Good luck and enjoy! And yes, I do approve all comments, but don't think I'm censoring everybody. I will let negative ones through as long as everybody plays nice. View all posts by craftymomchronicles

One response to “The Grass is Greener…

  • Rebecca Severson

    I saw an interesting variation on this phrase: “If the grass is always greener on the other side, maybe it’s because you aren’t taking care of your grass.” Felt it went along nicely with the point you have made here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Mary Maxim Blog

Knit and Crochet Tips, Updates and more.

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Diabetes Odyssey

A blog about my life with type 1 diabetes and related complications.

free_bird

Loner's...do not enjoy solitude, but having tried unsuccessfully to blend in; only to realize people often disappoint them....they shelter themselves.

WIL WHEATON dot NET

50,000 Monkeys at 50,000 Typewriters Can't Be Wrong

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

sleepykittystitches.wordpress.com/

Cross Stitch & My Kitty

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

Crafting to Speak

Learning how to talk with color and fabric and thread.

Stitch Therapy

Discovering me … one stitch at a time

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

Explore Newness

My quest to do or learn something NEW as often as I can!

Treacle Scones & Rumpled Sheets

There's more than one way to enjoy melted butter.

Hook Stitch Hoop

Stitching my way through life

crosstitchery

handcrafted by; quilts, needlework, DIY & decor

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crocheting colour for the home.

