Weekly Craft Update – January 11, 2016

Look at me, second Monday of the year and I am actually remembering to post. Considering how crazy busy life has been these first eleven days of the new year, I’m pretty proud of myself. 

A bit of a non-crafty update first…

Back for my birthday my DH got me a Fitbit. He had received one from his best friend for his birthday back in July, and so it was time for me to get in on the action. I love it. The watch itself is fairly accurate at counting steps, and since the model I have also tracks my heart rate and sleep patterns, it is thankfully very comfortable to wear nearly 24/7. Obviously I don’t wear it in the shower and it does need to charge occasionally (which I have found works best if I just toss it on the charger whenever I am getting a shower or bath, since I can’t wear it then anyway). The default setting is 10,000 steps a day, plus 10 flights of stairs. I took my DH’s advice and bumped it down to 5,000 steps and left the stairs where it was. I soon found that I was averaging between 6,000 and 7,000 steps a day and close to 20 flights. So, within the first week, I changed my goal to 8,000 and 20 flights. I did not manage to hit that daily, but for the most part, I did well. I knew I weighed in at about 150ish pounds when I got it, and I know I was snugly fitting into a US size 10 jeans. Not terrible I know, but, to put into perspective, before kids, I was maybe 110 pounds and fit into a size 3. I knew I wouldn’t get back there quickly, so I set my weight goal for 130 pounds and just paid more attention to keeping moving more throughout the day. As of a couple days ago, a few things have happened. I am comfortably into a size 7 jeans, and to date have lost a total of 13.4 pounds, putting me at 136.6. My goals are now tougher. Upped back to 10,000 steps a day, and pushing it to 25 flights. Since I am a bit of a Netflix junkie, I have found the best thing I can do, is start an episode (usually around 45 minutes give or take), strap 5 pound ankle weights on each leg, grab my 3 pound hand weights and walk in place on our mini trampoline. I like that since I do have a few joint problems, and so walking on the tramp gives me a softer service to walk on. Then I’ve added doing stuff with my arms to start toning them up too. I’m less than 3 years from the big 4-0, and I think 40 is gonna be pretty. 😉 

Okay! Enough bragging. 

I have also made time to stitch. I say made, because it is important to me, and I find it very soothing. Not many changes this week, but as I’ve always said, progress is progress even if it is just a few stitches. So, here’s your picture. 

  
Also, I got a lovely present in the mail. A dear friend of mine, Sady, knows how much I adore owls. So, she colored this for me, full of purples (my favorite color), and just full of love and light. I had to share it with all of you. I will get a frame for it soon, and put it somewhere I can see it often. 

  
That’s all for me today. Happy crafting, keep smiling!!

About craftymomchronicles

Okay, so this is where I am supposed to be witty and cute and tell you how funny and awesome I am to get you to read my blog. Well….. not sure how that is going to work. I am a stay at home mom of two, one is my minime high school student and theater chick, the other is my homeschooled dancing dude, who is momma’s lil man. I get to stay at home and do all this cool stuff thanks to my awesomeness hubby who works his tush off so I can. Of course staying at home isn’t for everybody, and we’ll dive into THAT some day I’m sure, but I love it, and I have my crafts to keep me busy. That is what started this whole thing. Hubby said to me “babe, you should start blogging” and well, here I am. Good luck and enjoy! And yes, I do approve all comments, but don't think I'm censoring everybody. I will let negative ones through as long as everybody plays nice. View all posts by craftymomchronicles

Leave a Reply

Mary Maxim Blog

Knit and Crochet Tips, Updates and more.

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Diabetes Odyssey

A blog about my life with type 1 diabetes and related complications.

free_bird

Loner's...do not enjoy solitude, but having tried unsuccessfully to blend in; only to realize people often disappoint them....they shelter themselves.

WIL WHEATON dot NET

50,000 Monkeys at 50,000 Typewriters Can't Be Wrong

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

sleepykittystitches.wordpress.com/

Cross Stitch & My Kitty

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

Crafting to Speak

Learning how to talk with color and fabric and thread.

Stitch Therapy

Discovering me … one stitch at a time

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

Explore Newness

My quest to do or learn something NEW as often as I can!

Treacle Scones & Rumpled Sheets

There's more than one way to enjoy melted butter.

Hook Stitch Hoop

Stitching my way through life

crosstitchery

handcrafted by; quilts, needlework, DIY & decor

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crocheting colour for the home.

