Weekly Craft Update – January 25, 2016

Well…

Last week was definitely not a good one for steps. Not to give too much TMI, but I was just feeling blah and really didn’t want to move. Somewhat it was the weather, some was hormones, and just one of those weeks. 

But…

It is a new week, the sun is shining again and no point in dwelling on what I didn’t accomplish. Time to focus on what I can do this week. 

One thing about being lazy… Lots of bum in chair stitching time (way more than I should have probably) but, I’m also at the frustrating, there are no big blocks of the same color part of the background. For new readers, I stitch a little weird. I start in the middle (I do read directions… Sometimes). But, I tend to pick a color, and do everything I can reasonably get to (I don’t like to skip a bunch, yes I know it’s counted cross stitch, but mistakes tend to happen more the more squares counted) and then I switch to another color and do the same. So, when there aren’t large blocks of color together, I tend to get frustrated and annoyed. But. I also love the way it looks with all the detail in the end so I know it’s worth it, doesn’t stop me from wanting to chuck it out the window though. I also have a slight obsession with finding edges, especially in the big pieces like this. Also, I do all single color stitches first, and then the blended. Told you, I’m weird. Times like these though, the weekly pictures are a huge help, so I can actually see that I did make progress lol.

Okay, enough rambling. Here is your picture…

  
On a personal note. Well a few things. I have been online gaming some again, and I have my friends (who I will call Banana Man and Slippers) to thank for making it loads of fun. And I want to wish a happy birthday to Dr. Fox… An old friend who hasn’t been around much, but when I put the date at the top, I remembered that it is tomorrow. ❤

Keep smiling, keep crafting and most of all, have fun!

About craftymomchronicles

Okay, so this is where I am supposed to be witty and cute and tell you how funny and awesome I am to get you to read my blog. Well….. not sure how that is going to work. I am a stay at home mom of two, one is my minime high school student and theater chick, the other is my homeschooled dancing dude, who is momma’s lil man. I get to stay at home and do all this cool stuff thanks to my awesomeness hubby who works his tush off so I can. Of course staying at home isn’t for everybody, and we’ll dive into THAT some day I’m sure, but I love it, and I have my crafts to keep me busy. That is what started this whole thing. Hubby said to me “babe, you should start blogging” and well, here I am. Good luck and enjoy! And yes, I do approve all comments, but don't think I'm censoring everybody. I will let negative ones through as long as everybody plays nice. View all posts by craftymomchronicles

2 responses to “Weekly Craft Update – January 25, 2016

  • Maia T.

    Hello, weirdness buddy! That’s exactly how I work, save that I do the blends in with the single colors. I was taught to always start in the center of a project, and I always have up until my current one; it simply made the most sense to start this one from a corner. It’s also massively confetti (I’d say around 80%), so I’m going a little bonkers with it right now.

    The one not-to-be-broken rule as I was taught was to never skip over more than 6 stitches, not for aesthetic reasons, but because the longer the floss in a jump is, the more the odds of it breaking when the piece is stretched for framing go up.

Leave a Reply

Mary Maxim Blog

Knit and Crochet Tips, Updates and more.

The Prolific Trek

726 episodes. 13 movies. 366 days.

Diabetes Odyssey

A blog about my life with type 1 diabetes and related complications.

free_bird

Loner's...do not enjoy solitude, but having tried unsuccessfully to blend in; only to realize people often disappoint them....they shelter themselves.

WIL WHEATON dot NET

50,000 Monkeys at 50,000 Typewriters Can't Be Wrong

Anne Wheaton dot Com

A Little Kindness Goes A Long Way

sleepykittystitches.wordpress.com/

Cross Stitch & My Kitty

theunfinishedcrafter

A chronic sufferer of 'new-project-itis', I'm hoping this inspires me to finish some of my unfinished projects.

Crafting to Speak

Learning how to talk with color and fabric and thread.

Stitch Therapy

Discovering me … one stitch at a time

The Crafty Coup

Finally, you're here! Let's make something!

Explore Newness

My quest to do or learn something NEW as often as I can!

Treacle Scones & Rumpled Sheets

There's more than one way to enjoy melted butter.

Hook Stitch Hoop

Stitching my way through life

crosstitchery

handcrafted by; quilts, needlework, DIY & decor

the twisted yarn

Knitting and crocheting colour for the home.

